World Cup Preview

UQ2A4399-Edit.jpg

The inaugural ISF Socca6 World Cup in Lisbon, Portugal, is only days away, and Team USA is ready to go.

The 6v6 tournament will feature 32 national teams from around the globe, and the format will be familiar to fans of the world’s game.

Each nation will play three games in the group stage, one each against its group foes, with the knockout stage consisting of the winners and runners up of each group. The full schedule can be found here.

Matches will consist of two 20-minute halves, and the tournament schedule is intense. All 64 matches, from the Canada-Cape Verde opener to the championship final, will take place over the seven days from September 23 to September 29.

For the event, a purpose-built stadium is being assembled in Lisbon’s historic Praça do Comércio, and the entire tournament will be live-streamed to the public. Team USA matches can be found through specialty broadcaster mycujoo.

Team USA will compete in Group E on the following schedule:

  • Monday, September 24, 10 a.m. EDT (7 a.m. PDT) - Kazakhstan

  • Tuesday, September 25, 6 p.m. EDT (3 p.m. PDT) - Slovakia

  • Thursday, September 27, 3 p.m. EDT (12 p.m. PDT) - England

Legendary Brazilian defender Roberto Carlos will be in attendance to help kick off the tournament festivities.

Follow Team USA 6v6 on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for coverage throughout the tournament.



Kyle Kepner